12×10 – “Pterodactyl Screeching into the void” – Part 1

bluestar86:

My title is borrowed
from @postmodernmulticoloredcloak comment on my crazy blogging after first
watching this episode earlier. I feel like it is a fitting title for how this
episode made me feel. To clarify, these are very very happy pterodactyls.

Steve Yokey wrote this
episode and he appears to have well and truly taken up the gap left when Robbie
Thompson sadly left the show. In fact this episode to me channels the ghost of
Robbie in many different ways. From the fanfiction-esque moments of poor
suffering third wheel Sam, to the meta nod to Charlie Bradbury, there
is much of Robbie to be found here. Basically, it was bloody perfect.

I feel like there is so
much to talk about in this episode that fandom will be chewing on it for months
if not years to come. Yokey has picked up the characterisations brilliantly,
and seems to have an understanding of what the fandom desperately craves in
terms of Castiel, his character, his personality and his development. I adored
his sass in this episode. Some other writers *cough*bucklemming*cough* struggle
to really capture Castiel’s sass and humour. Showing their lack of
understanding of Castiel’s persona and his intelligence and instead writing him
in a way that is jarring and sometimes basically stupid. Castiel is far from
stupid. In this episode he was written perfectly, in a way I haven’t seen since
Edlund’s time. Is that a sweeping statement? Maybe. But I’m still riding my
high so let me have it this time.

This episode gave us
three of my favourite things. Badass and Sassy Castiel, Overprotective grumpy
husband Dean, and poor long suffering brother Sam. (baring in mind this is how
they are usually written in fanfiction nowadays this is exactly my jam and I am
so so happy to see it play out on screen. Seriously who sold their soul to
Crowley for this episode?)

This review will also be
in two parts. Because I have so freaking much to say about it.

The first part will
focus on destiel, the second on everything else including Castiel’s emotional
arc (as separate from destiel), his relationships with angels, angels and
gender and Lily Sunder’s character.

PART 1 – ALL
THE DESTIEL

Continua a leggere

Leave a Reply

